The Gilbert Legge Memorial Award

George Crump and John Collins founded the Pontypool and District League. After one season When John left Wales because of work Gilbert came in as Secretary for the second season coincident with the name change to the Gwent Cross Country League.

In his memory there is an award made. The award is voted for by the member clubs and it goes to the club which has shown "Sportsmanship, Endeavour and Achievement".

Here is the list of all winners of the award:

1977-78 Ferndale Lower Comprehensive
1981-82 Beddau A.C
1982-83 Aberdare Valley A.A.C.
1984-85 Ferndale Lower Comprehensive
1985-86 Carmarthen Harriers
1986-87 Les Croupiers Running Club
1897-88 City of Plymouth A.C.
1988-89 Great Western Runners
1989-90 Penair School, Truro
1992-93 Preseli Harriers
1993-94 Amman Valley Harriers
1994-95 Aberdare Valley A.A.C.
1995-96 Neath Harriers
1996-97 Forest of Dean A.C.
1997-98 Brecon A.C.
1999-00 North Devon A.C.
2000    Amman Valley Harriers
2001    Brackla Harriers
2002    Port Talbot Harriers
2003    Sarn Helen
2004    Les Croupiers Running Club
2005    Carmarthen Harriers
2006    Bridgend A.C.
2007    TROT
2008    Swansea Harriers
2009    Carmarthen Harriers
2010    Brecon A.C.
2011    Westbury Harriers
2012    Les Croupiers Running Club
2013    Bristol and West A.C. 
2014    Blaenau Gwent
2015    Brecon A.C.
2016    Avon Valley
2017    Parc Bryn Bach
2018    Carmarthen Harriers
2019    Parc Bryn Bach